Converting Diagram to Ladder Logic

mj3

Hi there! I am new to PLC's, and I have undertaken the task of converting a primarily pneumatically-operated machine to electrically & pneumatically controlled/operated.

As far as I have gathered, there are about 6 inputs, 6 corresponding outputs, and the machine will utilize limit switches to control actuators -- both electrical and pneumatic actuators. I am wondering if there is a way to do this, having the machine be electrically controlled but still maintain the pneumatic actuators.

I'm struggling to make much sense of the diagram here, and I'm not sure how to take anything from the diagram and apply it to a ladder logic PLC program.

doc20210507121457.jpg

Hi mj3, welcome to the forum.
I would first ask someone how this physical works, get them to explain it out as a scope of works (written down as a step by step thru how the device works), then redraw it as a single line diagram, When you have that, you pretty much have your PLC code.
Now l imagine you really wanted someone to start or complete the code for you, but unfortunately l am a big believer that people should not touch things they don't understand, keep in mind, people here have no idea what safety issue's maybe involved re this device. Also the most likely first question to be asked next will be what type of PLC?

I second @PLCnovice61's sentiment about safety, especially when I see the phrase "Two-Hand Module" in there, which usually refers to an operator-protection device. Another question to ask is why this was done pneumatically in the first place e.g. are electric circuits a Bad Thing to introduce into this (explosive?) process environment?

My brother told me that someone in HR once set up an area for smokers outside his plant's building, with a picnic table and other such accoutrements. The only problem was that it was located by the discharge of unused oxygen from the PSA unit that the plant used to generate nitrogen for blanketing.