Direct Soft Programming

DRATCLIFFE

I AM WRITTING A PROGRAM FOR DIRECT SOFT 32

1.A PUMP SPEED CAN BE CONTROLLED MANUALLY AS A PERCENT BY TWO THUMB WHEELS SWITCH SETTINGS.

2.ANALOG OUTPUT PROPORTIONAL TO THE THUMB WHEEL SETTING. 00 ON THE THUMB WILL BE 0 VOLTS AND 99 WILL BE 9.9 VOLTS

3.IF THE PUMP IS RUNNING AT 75% OR HIGHER IT WILL TURN ON A INDICATOR LIGHT.

Congratulations. Is the program working alright?
Seriously, you can't expect people to write the program for you.
Give it a shot, show what you've got and the ask questions....

Good luck

Only they wrote a program to you will go a challenge. Somewhat well explained, and an unusual situation.. Not necessarily complex, the help will be guaranteed and amused the participants

I am new to AD PLCs too so I will try to do with you this exercise.
Let decide what we need before.
I think we need 8 inputs,1 output and 1 analog output.
Do you agree?
How do you think we should convert the thumg wheel signal to numbers?
2 digit number.
Think obout that come with an answer and we will go to the next step.

Question,

I've never worked with thumbwheels before. Do they put out a binary, BCD, or grey code signal or something like that?

Thanks ArikBY,

Ok so lets presume that the tuumb wheels are BCD just to keep things simple, You would take the tuumb wheel value, and mutlaply it by your proportanate value, and out the result directly into your refrence location for the Analog Output module. Your indicaator could simply work by using a comparitve contact (Thumbwheel > K75). Seems pretty simple to me. You didnt mention the model PLC, or analog unit etc.. So who knows what memory locations are involved....

Mike.

2.ANALOG OUTPUT PROPORTIONAL TO THE THUMB WHEEL SETTING. 00 ON THE THUMB WILL BE 0 VOLTS AND 99 WILL BE 9.9 VOLTS

3.IF THE PUMP IS RUNNING AT 75% OR HIGHER IT WILL TURN ON A INDICATOR LIGHT.