Full Torque at Zero RPM - electric vehicle

Rjay

Gentlemen,

Newbie here...but an EE too so I can speak bit, byte and flux. I have been researching various manufacturers of AC drives. I am looking for a drive that will yield full torque at zero RPM and so far, AB has a paper outlining their Force technology for this. They walk you through V/Hz. sensorless, sensor, flux control and then, finally, field oreiented flux control. The claim is that this field oriented control with encoder feedback will do the trick.

Do other drives do this? AB commands a premium for their stuff so I am interested in alternatives. Will a "boost" work as a substitute (I see this on some of the drives). It seems that I must run vector control with feedback to be able to handle fast load transients but I can't tell which drives will provide full torque at zero RPM.

Any thoughts from your experience/knowledge?

Thanks,

Rjay

Hi Dave,

Thank you for the response. I am aware of the SSD drives but I can't find this spec. They mention Flux Vector Control with a feedback encoder but AB shows a curve (5th up from the bottom) outlining the difference between Flux Vector and their patented Field Oriented control.

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/wp/drives-wp002_-en-p.pdf

They show that Flux Vector Control has a sharp drop in Torque in the first few RPM. Their Force technology using Field Oriented Control shows full torque at zero RPM.

Do you know how to find this spec on any given drive?

Thanks,

-Rjay

Does this have to be an induction motor? Any servomotor with a servo drive would produce full torque at zero RPM...

What is the approximate horsepower requirement for this app?

The application..

Guys,