PID RSLogix 500 PV shows zero?

Thor Hammer

So this is rather strange. I have 3 PID loops in my program and they all show zero for the process value when in operation so its setting the output to max.

N7:4 is the setpoint as entered on the HMI
N7:22 is the process variable scaled. Its pressure in a vessel to control pump speed. Right now its at 13 psi.
N7:54 is not used. Its just there as I am using the CVP address of the PID.

Any help greatly appreciated. Have not run into this before. I have no errors in my program. Ugh!

Here is a screen shot

Untitled.jpg

So I am new to AB plcs and figured out I needed to use the raw address value (0-16383) in the PID process value field. Once I did this then the process value started working. I have a lot to learn still. Any feedback greatly appreciated. I have been lurking on this forum for a while and love it.

so – you've made changes – and the RSS file that you've attached is now a "working" version ... correct? ...

excellent ...

if I'm interpreting what you've posted so far correctly, the value of N7:22 was originally being "scaled" into a range of 0 to 30 ... that means that when the PID saw its PV (input) come in at a maximum of 30, it (the PID) would accept that as 30 divided by 16383 giving an input signal of 0.0018 ... naturally that would be rounded off to ZERO ...

the only other "unorthodox" thing about your setup that jumps right out is the use of the PID's CVP (Control Variable Percent) instead of the CV (Control Variable) as the PID's output signal ...

yes, you ARE scaling the CVP into a range of 0 to 16383 before you send that to your output module – which is good ... but ... the potential issue is that you're only going to get about 100 steps of resolution that way ... in other words, your PID's output will be "chunky style" ... on the other hand, if you were to use the recommended method of sending the CV to the output module, you'd get about 16383 steps of resolution ... "smooth style" ...