Plc controlled dol

Lucky_Bugger

Hi,

I'm a bit new to all this, however...

I'm trying to control a DOL motor using a PLC output.

At the moment i have a PLC output directly driving a contactor supplying power to the motor. The rating of the PLC output is high enough to drive the contactor coils.

On other circuits ive seen, people sometimes use an intermediate relay on the plc output to drive the contactor coil. This relay would be supplied from the PLC output in series with the auxilliary contacts on the motor overload, breaker and isolator. I.e. its hard wired.

What i'm intending to do is to feedback the overload auxilliary, the isolator auxilliary and the breaker auxilliary to the PLC and get the program to decide when to drop out the contactor.

The question is, is this the wrong way of doing it?

Ive attached a PDF of the circuit.

I should have added, if it is the wrong way of doing it, why is it?

Last edited:
I don't see anything wrong, it all depends on your application. I will say that where I work they prefer a hardware stop rather than relying on the PLC. For example the output from the PLC you are using to engage the contactor would go through the auxiliary contacts on the breaker and isolator, so if either of those trip the contactor drops out.

I will say that where I work they prefer a hardware stop rather than relying on the PLC.

I agree... Have the CPU get an input saying the overload/heater/breaker has tripped but drop out the relay with the interlock, this will prevent someone in the future from forcing the PLC to run the motor if something is wrong with the circuit/motor control, its just safer

I would just have the PLC light a error light and stop the process but leave the control to the hard wire