Studio 5000 TON timers in FOR loop in ST

musterhere

Hi, I'm quite new to Rockwell PLC and currently trying to implement the following

if Sw1 then
for i:=1 to 20 by 1 do
xEnable := 1;
bit := bit + 1;
if delay.DN then
xEnable := 0;
end_if;
end_for;
end_if;

delay.TimerEnable := xEnable;
delay.PRE := 5000;
tonr(delay);

So once the Switch is on the variable bit should be incremented gradually with each step having 5 second delay, but running the code makes the bit increment straight up by 20 without any noticeable delays. Could someone please explain how does Studio 5000 implement the programs and how should I reorganize the code to achieve what I want?

Loop through it in your mind and see that your bit +=1 instruction happens every loop independent of the timer status. Try moving that line into the "if delay.DN" statement.

Edit to add:
Note that the loop isn't going to pause while the timer is timing, rather it's going to execute a bunch of 20 times back to back. Look at doing a "while" loop instead of a for-next loop.
While bit <20
If delay.DN then
bit+=1
xEnable :=0
end while

Something like that.

First off, Your bit:=bit+1 isn't in the delay.DN If-Then nest.
So, yeah, it's going to count to 20 immediately.

Second, you're For-Next loop isn't affected by the timer being done, so what will happen is that it will loop 1-20, update the timer. Then next scan it will loop 1-20, update the timer some more. And so on.

When the timer it done, it will loop 1-20, adding 1 to the bit each time so that it will wind up at 20, and setting xEnable:=0 each pass. Then it will clear the TimerEnable bit, clearing the .DN bit and .ACC and start all over again.

[EDIT: Looks like joseph_e2 beat me to the same answers]

Loop through it in your mind and see that your bit +=1 instruction happens every loop independent of the timer status. Try moving that line into the "if delay.DN" statement.

Edit to add: