OT - DC Motors In Series Question For An Electrical Engineer

Aabeck

I am working on a display. I have 2 small (3 watt) 12VDC permanent magnet gearmotors that run about 30RPM on a 5VDC USB hub power pack. I have a faceted ball on each motor and 2 USB snake lights behind to light them, the effect is similar to a star ball. But I would like the speed lower.

I thought wiring 2 motors in series would give each motor 2.5V and reduce the speed, but when powered up one motor spins full speed with the other motor stopped. Applying pressure to the shaft of the spinning motor causes it to stop fully and the other motor to spin full speed. If I apply pressure to both motor shafts the motors go full speed one at a time, switching back & forth quickly.

I am not an electrical engineer and was wondering if an electrical engineer could explain this, or if this is not normal for DC motors and they should share the power.

That's normal. Your voltage is so low that you have very little torque.
Connect both in parallel. Put a 2.7V Zener diode in series with each one to drop voltage. Not sure what wattage you need.
Another way would be to use LM317 regulators. That would give you adjustable speed.
You may find that you need motors with a higher gear ratio.

keithkyll,

Thanks. I will try the Zener diodes. I already decided against adjustable voltage regulators as I want to keep this simple.

And I am stuck with the gear ratio - these motors were scrap from a robotic camera control system. Each has an encoder on it that failed and my customer was going to throw them in the garbage and let me have them. The only thing wrong with them is the encoder and the motors work great on 1.2 to 12 volts. (and the cost from the OEM for these is $590.00 each!!!)

Last edited:
is there any electronics inside to control the speed?
maybe it is a BLDC motor?

if you want more control use an arduino UNO.

Paul,