project help

doctror jim

hello everyone i am a student and i have a project to make using plc from siemens....the code isnt the problem,what i lack is experience in real projects for example i wanna run the plc in a transporting tape which categorize the products by height and sends them left or right...its pretty simple but since i lack the experience of the real think i dont know what parameters should i use...for what should i use alarm...what should i make sure not to happen...that kind of stuff...i dont know if i managed to get you the picture..i hope i did and u guys should help a bit understanding those things...thx in advance :D

Start with I/O

Even if you don't know what does what, think of what do I need to do this or check this.

Inputs take a physical movement and turn it to an electrical signal.
Outputs take an electrical signal and do something with it.

Photoeyes look for something. Input
Buttons do a operator comand stop, start or select. Input
Limit switches tell something is there. Input

Contactors start a motor. Output
Solenoids control movement. Output
Pilot lights tell you something. Output

The above should get you started, remember ask yourself.
How can I do this and what does it need to do.
What happens if I do that, what can go wrong, and how can I prevent it.

Good luck

Wow,

Takes me back to the day I stared into my first black hole of PLC.

On occasion I still have flash backs.

Start from the beginning, Identify your process and list your task. List your I's and O's

By this time you should have started putting rungs together in your head, what your going to do with the photo eye, the limit switch, the motor contactor, buttons...

The process will start to take shape. After a thousand emulations go to rung 2.

Believe it or not the secret to programming is in the "DO". You begin to find all the nifty things Siemens didn't tell you about. Like why it had to be so difficult to set a delay-on timer.