SLC5/05 and Powerflex 700 VC

Hi guys,
I am having few issues which I would like assistance on:
I have a SLC5/05 that is communicating to a Powerflex 700 drive. I am new to both these equipment. I need help with controlling the drive. The drive has an encoder input.
What I am having issue with is that when I give it 12mA (from PLC AO) signal to run at 50% speed, and when the encoder input is not linked then the drive just takes off and goes to maximum. I would like for it stay at 12mA instead of ramping up to max. What parameter would this be associated to?
When the encoder input is linked then the drive controls itself at 50% speed or whatever the PLC is asking for it do.
I need to be able to change this on-demand so is there a parameter that I can change over Ethernet/IP from PLC that when the parameter is set it looks at the analog input into the drive and when the parameter value is not set then it looks at the drive's PID control output?

The drive is communicating over Ethernet/IP using messaging. I do not currently know how to bring back the encoder data to the PLC.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

After reading the manual for a bit, here is what I found so far:
Parameter 124 is set for exclusive mode, and P125 bit 0 has PI Enable checked in the drive program.
So I think, this is where it is configured to take the setpoint from the analog input and then use the encoder to control the speed of the drive.
Am I correct in this assumption?
Page 137 is where I found this:
http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/rm/pflex-rm001_-en-e.pdf

Thanks!

Do you know exactly which variant of PowerFlex 700 you have ? Some of the functions changed significantly between Series A and Series B, and on the VC (Vector Control) and 700S models.

What exactly do you mean when you say the encoder input is "linked" to the drive ?