I'm still learning and need help

Let's see...I knew it once...oh, what is it?--I can't remember. Oh yeah...no that's not it. I forgot. I had it memorized once. What's wrong with my memory?

Student, by chance?

(digital)

Usually DRAM.
That's why most PLCs require a battery to retain their programs.

SRAM works in a simlar way, but is generally more expensive.

BTW, my answer is 100% correct, but it might not be what your teacher is looking for. My advice to you is to read the book/take notes to find out what exactly he/she wants to hear.

Last edited:
LJBMatt said:
get ready for some flaming action.
Not sure how specific you need to be but I would have to say Solid-State Memory.

You mean, I can throw away my IBM Toroidal core stacks? or are they considered solid state?

I remember core memory. We tried to migrate from core to bubble memory. Bubble memory did not work for programmable controllers. Stayed with good old core memory. What kind of memory did HAL use? "Dave, I'm losing my memory..."

PLCs most often use binary memory.

Decimal data is converted into binary by adding powers of the number 2. For example, the number 5 becomes 101 in binary (1*2^0 + 0*2^1 + 1*2^2, from right to left). It is easy to store binary numbers in a transistor circuit with few errors because the transistor(s) will be in saturation (on=1) or cutoff (off=0).

Data is most often handled by the PLC in bits, bytes, and words. Bits represent a single binary digit (0 or 1). A byte is 8 bits, representing a larger (0 to 255, or -127 to 128) number. A word is a group of bytes: typically two, but it varies from PLC to PLC.

There is also a group of bits called a nibble, which represents a half-byte (four bits, or fifty cents). A nibble can be represented in hexidecimal format. Hexidecimal is base 16, so the numbers 0-15 are represented by a single place holder. This is accomplished by substituting the letters A-F for the numbers 10-15.