Understand Panel view

Thunderbike

Hello everyone. I am a good industrial electrician who gets about RSLogix fairly well while diagnosing problems and doing minor additional programming tasks, but not a real programmer. I currently have a very old machine that seam welds a stainless steel flexible tubing. Picture exhaust flex pipe or a culvert pipe . I uses 2 racks of SLC5/04 to control two different drives and includes a special timer card to control an inverter that powers and adjusts the weld transformer. The card is made by the welding inverter supply and in RSlogix only comes up as "other"The program has 872 rungs with no descriptions, and the company that make this machine only made on and they went out of biz 20 yrs ago. There is a panelview 2711-t10c8 that the operator sets the speeds and weld amperage. A few days ago, the machine started welding at full current no matter how low he set it. The inverter that sets the current can be adjusted with a separate hand held unit made by the inverter supplier, and it adjusts correctly when I use it.
Where I am at a total loss is when it comes to knowing how to "see" the communication between the panelview and the Plc. As I said, the program has almost 900 rungs with no descriptions and is mostly moves, copies, less, more, scaling, timers,etc, so it is hard to find and watch what is going on. I would like to see if the panelview is sending the the proper information and if it is changing the information as the operator changes values. I have never attempted this, don't know where to look (in RSlogix?) or if it is even possible. The only connection on this panelview is DH+ to the Plc and no other rs232 or anything that looks like I could plug into. Can anyone help a noob?
Thanks

is there any manuals, cad drawings, trouble shooting information?

if not, you will need to document the program while it is in manual mode
by turning on/off inputs 1 at a time and very carefully doing the same for the outputs.