what is an HR (omron PLC)

Ken44

Can anyone tell me what an HR is... Holding Relay?
does it stay on untill toggled? Does an HR input toggle it each time it closes? I'm very new to Omron PLC's and my last dealings with a PLC was 8 or 10 years ago in a classroom with a TI435 (Texas Instruments) and a small dos program (TI405). I'm trying to figure out if a button on a touch screen is pressed if I use an HR if the output stays on until pressed again. Right now I have (offline) 2 timers 1 counts to 1 and sets the output on and the second counts to 2 and resets them both, and turns the light off.
Its not really my job, but I am the curious type and have thought about volunteering to help the guy who is not wanting to do his job. I may talk to him and see if the guy who formerly held his position left a copy of the program that I can look over. I don't think the new guy knows much more than I do, but at least he has the equipment and software.

Thanks,
Ken

The holding relay area can be used on a bit or word basis. Like the Data Memory area, the Holding Relay area is memory retentive at all times, powered or un-powered. The program is the only thing that will turn a Holding Relay on or off.

thanks .. again!

Thanks again for all the help. I had some sample programs... actually I think that one was in the manual or an e-book that I read.. had me put it in a program with out a clue why...

I think I will offer to help the IT "professional" out with his programming... at least in the robot area, now that I have a guy helping me with keeping them running.