S7-200 High Speed Counter for Encoder Input

Ken J

I've read the Siemens website article for programming a high speed counter to read an encoder. Being that I am new to the S7, I was wondering if anyone has a circuit wiring diagram of a typical encoder hookup to the S7-200. Or possibly a link that shows the hookup. Thank you.

Does one just pick a normal digital input and configure it in the software as a high speed counter input? Or is the high speed counter a separate special add-on module?

The high speed counter function is available for 2 to 6 digital inputs (depending on CPU type) located on the CPU module. You have to use some special instructions to enable these functions. Some assitent in Microwin (the S7-200 programming software) will do most of the work for you.
Wiring:
The inputs take 24V DC pulse signals up to some 10KHz. It is possible to configure h.s.counters as up/down counters using encoders with 0 and 90 degree signals (don't remember the english term at the moment) wiring the signals to a pair of inputs.

Depending on the model of S7-200 you have, there are several different counter configurations available. There are no additional modules required but you do need to know which inputs are associated with your selected configuration. The 221 and 222 have up to 4 counters, the 224 and 226 models have up to 6. The mode of operation (up, down, up/down, single/double/quadrature etc) can be defined using a specific software instruction HDEF, or by using the Counter Wizard in the S7-200 microWin software. In your code, when you then come to address and control the counter operation, you use the instruction HSC.

I don't know which of the many (no, make that very many) Siemens' website articles you've read, but getting the S7-200 manual is essential here. Try http://support.automation.siemens.com/GB/news/en/1109582

regards

Ken.

(Us Ken's have got to stick together!)