Greenhouse automation

mdl

Hello

Although I have some experience in programming PCÕs and mainframes, I am completely new to PLC-programming, but very eager to learn how to use them. There is a lot of interesting material on the internet about this, including this board and the book that goes with it. But, after reading much of this material, I think the only way to learn is probably to start with a real world application.

There is a tradition in our family to cultivate our own vegetables, and for that purpose we have build us a little (70 sqm) greenhouse where we grow different vegetables as salad and tomatoes...
To maintain the ideal climate in the house, I would like to do some greenhouse-automation. (Now we must do this manually, but it is one of my tasks in the household and I forget it to many times.) I know such systems exists for professional purposes, but they are far to expensive for our little operation.

In a first phase I would like to control the ventilation system (window vents in the roof of the greenhouse) in relation to the temperature and the relative humidity in the house and the wind-velocity outside of it (When there is excessive wind the greenhouse should be closed, whatever the temperature and the humidity).

To manage this, I was thinking of an OPLC from Unitronics. The presence of the operating panel makes it possible to easily change some parameters and to initiate some instant actions, like starting irrigation for a certain amount of time (what I would like to add in a second phase.) The cost of this PLC is within the limits of what I want to spent on this, and there is reasonable support for it here in Belgium.