Student Needs Help!

Shaystyler

S
Hi,

I am a 4th year apprentice electrician and I am in my last phase of college in Dublin, my class has started doing plc's using Mitsubishi equipment for the last few weeks.
It seems pretty handy so far except for probably the most simplist thing that no seems to be able to grasp and no lecturer seems to be able to teach properly.

When do I use the inverse contact on a ladder diagram?

Does an open software contact have voltage running through it in the ladder diagram or is it the closed one.
Does an open contact change to a closed one when 24v hits it and vice versa!!!

Very confusing?!?, we asked every lecturer that knows plc's to explain these things and they all gave different answers, Mr Plc is the only one I can rely on now and my plc exams start in 2 weeks.

Is this diagram that one of our lecturers gave us any use?
Here it is at http://www.hypermedia8.com/proman2/brian/plc.gif

Thanks to anyone that can explain these things to me, then I can pass it on to my class mates,

Brian.

I hope that you learn more in the next year than you have in the last 3 years.
These answers are in your notes from the first half of the second year.

hmm

Sorry over in Ireland we only learn plc's in our last year cause we are trained in all areas of electric disiplines in the previous years, unlike some other countries!!

A common mistake is to assume that a contact in a PLC program is the same as a contact in a wiring diagram. A PLC is not a relay circuit emulator.

Look at the attached PDF file.