Which PLC for this application

backtoplc

Hi,

I am new to PLC. Only experience is couple of lab experiments back in my undergrad engg.
We have a project where we have to computer control a process.
The inputs/outputs involve high voltage and current (upto 55Amps). Some temperature inputs too.
I am not yet sure about the number of inputs. Probably around 20 inputs and 20 outputs.

Right now, I am looking at Siements Win AC and AB Softlogix5800.
Good thing with the Siemens Win AC is the labview interface.
If I understand correctly the win AC is just software. I would
still need to get PLCs for actual control, right?

Can some one explain the softlogix5800? Like an overview.

Any other suggestions?
Thanks in advance.

I've been using WinAc. I'm using it with the MP-370Touch HMI from Siemens. It doesn't have any retentive memory so I have to transfer any values I want to save to an offline datablock and read it back in on startup. It is a software PLC, you won't need a PLC to do the control but you will need an interface to a remote rack (Profibus/Ethernet/???) and I/O cards on the rack.

I'm actually looking to move to an real PLC. This gives me more flexibility, options of changing HMI's without losing the control, and a much cheaper route as the WinCC flex promised for the application over a year ago still will not work on a MP370 with WinAC.