motor on and off with single push button

saurabh_bmit

I'm a beginner in PLC education, struck with a problem. Anyone can please help. The problem is:

I have a single push button. When I press & release it first, motor should start and remain On.
When I press & release it again, the motor should turn off and remain off. And the same sequence to be accomplished every time I press & release the Button.

Please help me in developing a ladder diagram for this. Thanking you all in anticipation.

Cheers,

Saurabh

Google knows good stuff!...

Hey, whadda know?!?! The 6th link of a Google search for PLC Flip Flop is THIS page at Ron's site...
patch_com.gif

🍻

-Eric

Before you get to completing that, I would first try to understand what an e-stop is, and how you would use it.

In order to first get your motor to stay on. Begin with a memory bit. Have the memory bit on a normally open contact drive the motor ouput in an output coil

Turn the memory bit on with input button down and rising edge, to set the memory bit

Resest the memory bit if it is on, the button is down, and another rising edge, or off and falling edge.

This should probably be the easiest thing you will ever do in plcs

jwall said:
Before you get to completing that, I would first try to understand what an e-stop is, and how you would use it.

In an industrial application, you are so right.

In a school setting, sometimes understading the first three rungs of logic is overwhelming.

So, I would recommend getting the motor to start and stop, then work in the e-stop.

If our student doesn't understand e-stop, or emergency stop, do a search for either, and a lot of threads will pop up.

regards.....casey

it depends on

use this small code

a i0.0
fp m0.0
=m0.1

a m0.0
an q0.0
s q0.0
r m0.0

a m0.0
a q0.0
r q0.0

take care for this (r m0.0) other wise this will nort work