Probably a silly question about wireless.

JesperMP

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
I am still pondering wireless ethernet solutions. This to be able to access the PLC from any location in the plants that we are making.

Being a complete noob in this respect, I have a possibly easily answered question:

What is the difference between a "Wireless Router" and a "Wireless Accesspoint" ?
For my purposes, to be able to connect wirelessly to my ethernet enabled PLC(s), which of the two do I need ?

are we talking about 2.4 ghz?

... imagine accesspoint (AP) as standart TP switch ... and router like repeater ... they always support DHCP or fixed IP and some WEP crypting (64/128bit) ...for you as user, it always act as "small pc inside network" and you can also see it's IP and configure it through some kind of web api ...

1] access point - is like server ... receiveing and sending data to clients
2] router - is just node B in wireless network sending signal from node A to node C (routers have physically two antennas - ap and client have one only - it may not have LAN connector)
3] client - can communicate only with access point .. simply one side is wirelles and on other is LAN RJ45 connector you put into your switch/pc/plc... anything

4] you will probably buy two same devices but configure one as AP and second as CLIENT

Generally speaking, a wireless router is going to be a wire/wireless router. A wireless access point is a device that will link your wireless devices to an existing switch or hub. If you have an existing wired system, going with the wireless access point will be easier to set-up. Setting up multiple routers on the same network can be a pain.

That didnt make me much cleverer ! (no offense meant marius).

"... imagine accesspoint (AP) as standart TP switch ... and router like repeater ... "