What next???

djbillyd007

I have seen some posts on this subject and may bring up an old argument. Right now I am on hold and thinking of the next step. I have been working for a small company for 2 years and have gotten them to send me to step-7 200 school and am scheduled for a drive school. What I am wondering for the future. Is it better to get this type of training or go ahead and get the Bachelors degree. I now have an associate from ITT Tech. I can get the Bachelors in 10 months. I am happy with the small company I am with now, but have learned the hard way that staying @ a company for many years is the exception this day in age. I would like to be in the best position possible in that event. I am 35 years old and have already experienced 2 plant shut downs. My opinion of the state of or business today is be ready for change. What in your opinion of the best route for this????

If your less then a year away from a BS, then why not go for it. 10 months is a smiggen in time compaired to the rest of your carrier.

I'm a few years the wiser, but take that for what it's worth (nothing)...I say take go back a get your degree but part time if you are learning at your job don't leave it and take all the schooling that they will give, I prefer the short 1 or 2 week schooling over the long degree studies. I have been through 2 shut downs , I will find out my fate with this company in 54 more days (not that I’m counting) I have been with this one for 11 years, hate to see it go.
That being said the higher the level of programming, the more a degree will count and your income will show it.