Sending ASCII from SLC 5/05

csedgwick

I'm trying to use the 232 port on an SLC 5/05 to send ASCII characters to an LED marquee (PMD 1100 slave). I'm a little new to this forgive me if there is a simple answer to it. I've created a simple program using S:40 as a clock, copied it to an N file,done an AIC with the result being stored in a ST file, then used AWT to O/P it from the 232 port. I'm getting characters displayed, just not the right ones! I've broken up the HH:MM:SS and I can see them still as decimal in the ST database. Is there an instruction I've missed to output the equivalent decimal as ASCII? Also , I need to add characters at the start of the ASCII string to enable addressing of individual displays, center the characters, and clear the display.
Would greatly appreciate any information on where I'm going wrong.

Thanks.

Investigate the 'concatenate' (ACN) and 'ASCII Extract' (AEX) instructions. ACN builds up strings out of other strings, while AEX extracts strings from other strings.

ST9:0 = result
ST9:1 = ":"
ST9:2 = HRS after AIC conversion to string/ASCII
ST9:3 = MIN " ......
ST9:4 = SEC " ......
ST9:5 = "" , a blank string
ST9:6 = device code after conversion to string

COP ST9:5 to ST9:0 to clear ST9:0
ACN ST9:0 with ST9:6 to place device code into the string
ACN ST9:0 with ST9:2 to place HRS into the string
ACN ST9:0 with ST9:1 to place a colon into the string
ACN ST9:0 with ST9:3 to place MIN into the string
ACN ST9:0 with ST9:1 to place a colon into the string
ACN ST9:0 with ST9:4 to place SEC into the string

Now send the string. This is just a starting point. Your logic will vary.

Last edited:
Please post an example of what you are trying to send and what is being displayed on the display. This may help more clearly define what is going on.