Writing good code.....what constitutes good code to you?

ptine

I'm fairly new to this PLC stuff but I have taken some university level programming courses. I've only used AB so I can only comment wrt AB.I see such a wide variation of programming styles and approaches. Of course they all work. Some have little to no comments. Others have no rhyme or rhythm. I have seen rather large programs that have had their MSG files create with no logic whatsoever. Just random data tables with no logical connection to the data. On the flip side I have seen programs that have had their data tables very well organized. For example, all the data being sent to node 6 is sent to data table N:60 and all the data being sent from node 6 is being sent from data table N:66. Anyone care to share what they believe is good programming practices?

Imagine you are the maint. man, it's midnight on New Years Eve and there are about 40 managers/supervisors standing behind you asking why dosn't it work ? Good Code to me is whatever it takes to make downtime a minimum.

Good code=it works!=it is simple to troubleshoot the equipment or system with=it works all the time without hidden bomb conditions(takes good de-bugging on start-up)=it works!=you get to keep your job for a little while longer! LOL had to put that one in there