Noob Omron question

sbrugnoli

Hi,

I've been asked to design a system based on Omron CJ1M PLC. This is my first time doing that kind of job so I'm a bit confused. I have some doubts related to the power supply.

I need to feed the following modules (current consumption between "( )"):

- CJ1M-CPU11-ETN (0.58A, 5V)
- CJ1W-OC211 (0.096A, 24VDC)
- CJ1W-ID211 (0.08A, 5VDC)
- CJ1W-AD041-V1 (input signals (2): 1-10V, 4-20mA)
- CJ1W-DRM21 (0.29A, 5V)

So, as far as I understand I need two power supplies: one for the output relay module and one for the rest of the modules. So two CJ1W-PA202 modules would be right to power the system? Or am I just plain wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Sebastián.

Last edited:
This follows standard hardware configuration, not just Omron.

The modules are powered from the PA202, which is part of the backplane.

The OC211 needs a seperate 24VDC supply to power the outputs that are switched by the module

You need only one PA202 power supply. The PA202 generates both 5V and 24V internally and can provide upto 0.4A (and the OC211 card needs only 0.096A)

SVN

Use the PA202 to power the PLC internals. You really need a separate power supply for the outputs - talk to your Omron distributor.

(and the OC211 card needs only 0.096A)

Does this include the output loads?

You really need a separate power supply for the outputs - talk to your Omron distributor.

This is the normal way to go, occasionally, on smaller systems, sometimes the onboard PSU is sufficient, but more than likely a
seperate supply is used.

Just for the record:

FuentedePoder.jpg

So just one power supply would be enough.

Thanks you all.