Complete noob with load cells

Bobobodopalus

Hello all,

i will start off by saying i know nothing about load cells,
i want a converter/amplifier to output a 4/20mA signal from a load cell.
for reference i am looking at a SIWAREX WL280 load cell.

will any load cell work with any amplifier?
does the excitation voltage have to match or is higher ok?

i am looking at using a OMEGA TXDIN1600Sand assume it will work with anything but i dont really have a clue.

will any load cell work with any amplifier?
Most will. When you used the word any I must qualify my answer.

does the excitation voltage have to match or is higher ok?
The excitation voltage should be 10 volts. There may be other levels that I don't know about which is why I won't say any.

i am looking at using a OMEGA TXDIN1600Sand assume it will work with anything but i dont really have a clue.

It is always best to tell us the application. We have lots of experience in controlling presses and pressure in pressure vessels. Noise and response times can be an issue because many load cell amplifiers will filter a noisy or weak signal and that causes phase delay. Also, keep the distance between the load cell and amplifier short because it is easy to induce noise on very small signals.

The load cell will be specified to output a certain mV/V up to a certain max excitation voltage.
Something like 4mV/V and 10V excitation is normal.

The amplifier or transmitter that connects to the loadcell should be matched.
Some or most amplifiers can be configured for varying mV/V to suit the loadcell used.
If you happen to have a loadcell that outputs 2mV/V and the amplifier expects 4mV/V and cannot be changed, then the value the amplifier outputs will only be 0.5 times the proper value. If you know this you can offset this by the scaling in the PLC that receives the 4-20mA signal from the transmitter. There will be a loss of precision though because you don't use the full scale of the transmitter input.