CitectSCADA 5.5 Audible Alarms

Exnuke

Hi all,

I am fairly new to CitectSCADA 5.5 and I recently had to rebuild one of our client computers. The computer that I had to rebuild was the computer that was set up to announce audibaly allof our alarms. None of our other client computers are able to announce our alarms. I can see them when the come in and acknowlegde them, it is just that I cannot hear them when I happen to be away from the computer for a second. Does anyone know how to remedy this problem?

Thanks in advance.

If Citect is uasing audible alarms then it is using the Windows sound system, can you hear any sounds on that particluar PC ? I think the function that it is probably using (unfortunately I don't have manual or copy of Citect handy so the name may be incorrect) is something like DspPlaySound() in the function you would specify the name of the actual sound wav something like DspPlaySound("c:\mysounds\alarm.wav") if you have rebuild this PC is it possible that the sound files were not moved to the new pc ? Have a look thru Citect's online help they should ahve an example of correct syntax.

Yes Citect does use windows system to play sounds. The sounds are working fine on that computer. I have the wav file I want to use but any reference to that file in my citect.ini file are gone. I cannot seem to locate any online help dealing with this problem. If you know of a place online that can help me with the correct syntax, please post the link for me.

Thanks again.

This is copied form ver6.1 but it is the same in ver 5.5

DspPlaySound

Plays a waveform (sound). Wave form sound files *.WAV are provided with Windows and by third-party developers, or you can record them yourself to play long (and complex) sound sequences.