Help a COMPLETE NOVICE if you would.

sBattleID

Disclaimer: I browsed the forums and must say this is far outside of my knowledge in every facet. I work in Exhibit Design and have no real programming knowlege. I draw 3D models and do renderings and CNC/Shop plans.

My problem:

I have built a mockup of a clients body scanning machine that has two light bars that scan up and down. LEDs on down, off on up. IT is built as two separate drives due to the shape of it and the fact that it has to break down, ship, and be assembled by union trade show labor.

Under advice of others I used a PLC to make this happen using (what is called in the program) A flicker command on a timer controlled a relay to reverse the polarity of my motors thus giving me the up and down scan motion. Same control used for the LEDs.

The probelm is the two drives eventually got to the point where they were binding at the top causing a lound groaning under the strain(not be mention being bad for my motor and all)

I am installing limit switches at the top and the bottom to stop the motors and have gotten way out of my leage as far as trying to program this. The switches i bought are some bumper switches. The seem like they should work. Would a diferent type of switch be better?

Here is what I am trying to do. (if i am way off let me know)

Assuming light bar starts traveling up. LEDs off.

When Limit Switch 1 is hit stop Motor 1.
When Limit Switch 2 is hit stop Motor 2 then reverse motor direction of Motors 1 and 2 and start Motor 1 and 2

Light bar travels down. LEDs on.

When Limit Switch 2 is hit stop Motor 2 then reverse motor direction of Motors 1 and 2 and start Motor 1 and 2

Thats it. Thats what I am trying to program and have gotten completely lost.

I am using a Mitsubishi Alpha 2 PLC with is computer interface software.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Even if its a complete rewire and different design.

Thanks

how about a picture

Machine.jpg