Electrical/Motor Question

TimD

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello,

I'm trying to get a blower motor to run in the field. I had an electrician provide 100A single phase 230v service. This service was specified by others.

I have two motors, a PLC and two starters, HOA switches, etc.

My PLC and all associated I/O are working as expected. My lower amp-draw motor works perfectly.

My problem, one of the two motors (higher current draw) trips it's breaker about 10 seconds after running.

The motor specs:
single phase
230v
21 A (28 FLA)
5.5 HP

It's driving motor starter:
50A Max
32-42A Thermal overload

It's driving Breaker:
32A D-Curve, 2-pole

First, I'm no electrician. I am wondering if someone could share a "rule of thumb" regarding sizing breakers/starters/overloads for motors. I would say I was a little careless here.

Second, Can I bypass the 32A breaker and use the starter with thermal overload for a few days until a new breaker arrives?

Third, if I really should use a breaker always, can I substitute the 2-pole for a 3-pole, and only use L1 and L2?

Thanks All!!!!!!

1) 'if I really should use a breaker always...'. Absolutely.

2) What do you mean by 'can I substitute the 2-pole for a 3-pole, and only use L1 and L2'? Isn't this a single phase 2 pole system?

Bypassing a breaker and going to a 2 pole can't be recommended here. You are making a broad assumption that everything else is okay, and only a sizing issue exists. If you are wrong, you burn up the motor and maybe burn the place down.
I don't see a sizing problem, other than the overload is too big.
If you're no electrician, then find one! This is what they do for a living.

Last edited:
Hi keithkyll,

Yes, I would like to have an electrician out here, but that's not an option right now (long story)

I have a single phase system. I am using two hot wires to the motor, therefore, I am using a 2-pole breaker.