s5 to s7 conversion

axialpg

hi all,

i am currently in the process of converting an s5 program to s7 and i have come accross a tir command in the s5 in stl.

does anyone know of an equivalent in s7.

im a bit of a noob to this so please go easy :)

thanks in advance...Mike

You need to understand what the TIR instruction is doing in the Step 5 implementation - maybe its moving data around. You can use indirect addressing in Step 7 or the block move sfc.

axialpg said:
hi all,

i am currently in the process of converting an s5 program to s7 and i have come accross a tir command in the s5 in stl.

does anyone know of an equivalent in s7.

im a bit of a noob to this so please go easy :)

thanks in advance...Mike
Hi

'Load indirect register'

There is an equivalent in S7 but you cannot convert it ...this part of the software you will have to find out exactly what it does and rewrite the software in S7.Have a look at the type of CPU ( in S5) because some special functions use LIR en TIR , also some communication software ( which you also have to rewrite)

Eric

i think that is the problem, because i am so new to plcs, i dont know what the tir command does to be able to convert it or write the equivalent in step 7.

i have searched high and low on here and google to no avail :(

thanks for your response, i will keep looking.

aikona said:
Hi

'Load indirect register'

There is an equivalent in S7 but you cannot convert it ...this part of the software you will have to find out exactly what it does and rewrite the software in S7.Have a look at the type of CPU ( in S5) because some special functions use LIR en TIR , also some communication software ( which you also have to rewrite)

Eric

thanks alot, i read somewhere else that indirect addressing can be a problem with converting to s7.

i now have a starting point...thanks:)

What is the Step 5 CPU model number - you need to refer to the programming manual for that CPU

axialpg said: