Safety questions

rpoet

I have a safety-related question for the group:
I work in the special effects industry, and mostly build equipment designed to fly people. We put performers in harnesses, attach them to a lifting cable, and a winch designed for the purpose then winds cable on or off to raise or lower them - a fairly straightforward concept.

Some of the safety features included are:
-Redundant brakes; one on the motor, and one on the output shaft that is shared with the drum.
-Direct drive from the gearbox to the drum - no chain drives at all.
-The use of two contacts on E-Stop switches and relays, to mitigate the chances of a welded contact situation.
-Depending on the situation, the use of two main contactors in series to mitigate a welded contact situation.
-Limit switches that OPEN to trip; thus, if a wire breaks, the circuit will fault to a safe, non-running condition.
-A run-enable / deadman button, that must be held down for the duration of the move; it prevents movement in the event of a bumped joystick.
-While a PLC may be involved with info feedback for the operator, the E-Stop circuit is a simple hardwired relay setup; makes it easy to troubleshoot, and reliable.

Most of the designs are simple joystick control, without the need for positioning. In special efects, we tend to like "carbon-based" position and speed control, as the performer on the other end of the line may not always be in exactly the same place each time. We have a saying: "A motor has no soul, and can't tell if it will hurt someone."

What other recommendations do the members of the group have that might improve the safety and reliability of the system? Questions and critiques are welcome.

Thanks all!

rpoet

Have worked in safety and have worked high 500' on cooling tower is max and have ridden in crane baskets so I appreciate the concerns. Also have done a bit of rigging including logging.