PLC Temperature Reading and Recording

VJN

Hi, currently I'm holding a summer job at my Dad's business and he wants to start using PLCs to read and record temperatures on different planks of concrete to monitor them. He purchased an Automation Direct DL05/06 PLC and sadly I have no experience what so ever. I am currently learning and trying to design a program for it, can anyone send an example program for me to learn from??? Or maybe something to help me along like a trick or tip about PLCs and what to do??? Thanks

Quite an ambitious endeavor on your part. However, this is just the kind of thing that gets a lot of people involved in PLCs.

Kinda like, wanting to build furniture. You buy all of the wonderful tools and some fine wood and then stare it - wondering how to use the tools to change the wood into furniture.

You'll certainly need to learn the basics. As Steve said, start by reading the Tutorial on this site - then buy Phil's book. It will be a worthwhile investment.

In general, you are looking at monitoring a number of Analog Inputs and then recording the values... somehow, somewhere.

You will need to understand how to install and connect the Analog Input circuit. Some PLC's have Analog Input capabilities built-in. There might be 2 or 3 of these Inputs available in the base unit. Additional analog inputs would have to be handled by additional Analog Input Modules.

Then you will need to understand how to "set up" the Analog Input at the PLC. You will also need to understand how to interpret the Analog Input value into a meaningful number (scaling the raw-number value into some Engineering Unit value).

At that point, you will have a "value" sitting in some V_Mem location. Then you'll need to figure out what you want to do with that value.

Are you going to simply display it on a screen?
Are you going to enter it into a log with a time-stamp?
How often do you want to "peek" at the temperature?