HSCE Help...

goku-1452

I have an encoder hooked up to a HSCE module in slot 1 of a SLC 5/03. I am getting a frequency off of I:1.3 of the HSCE module. The encoder is on an auger that has a 10 to 1 ratio gearbox. I am getting rpm's using the frequency on I:1.3. I have noticed that the frequency jumps by 100 every now and then but the auger does not look like it is jumping around. Is there anyway to fix this jumping? I have tried changing the sampling but this problem doesn't seem to go away. Do I need a pull up resister? I need the rpm's to control a analog module output.

1. What frequency are you expecting to see?
2. What is the setting of M0:slot.9?
3. Is I:slot.0/3 (Rate Valid) set to 1? Does it flash to 0?
4. If I:slot.0/5 ever turns on then decrease M0:slot.9

1. What frequency are you expecting to see?
2. What is the setting of M0:slot.9?
3. Is I:slot.0/3 (Rate Valid) set to 1? Does it flash to 0?
4. If I:slot.0/5 ever turns on then decrease M0:slot.9

I am new to the HSCE module and beleive I have everything set up properly. I looked at what you asked and everything seams right. I have included my test program that I've been using. Maybe you may spot something that I missed or I may have set up wrong.

The entry in N9:9 explains the "frequency jumps by 100 every now and then" observation. The sample period is set at 10ms (1). Just one count different received during this 1/100th of a second period results in a disply changing by 100hz. If you can deal with the display updating only once per second try and entry of 100.

The entry in N9:9 explains the "frequency jumps by 100 every now and then" observation. The sample period is set at 10ms (1). Just one count different received during this 1/100th of a second period results in a disply changing by 100hz. If you can deal with the display updating only once per second try and entry of 100.