AB 1761-NET_ENI to FactoryTalk ME problems

CHC

Hello all, this is my first time posting on this website. I'm working on my first full control project, and I think I've made a dire mistake in my PLC selection. Maybe someone here can help bail me out:

I am developing the controls for a very simple high pressure pump monitoring process. I (mistakenly) purchased the AB 1769-L31 instead of the L31E. I thought I'd be ok if I bought the 1761-NET-ENI SER D but given my troubles I'm not so sure.

My ethernet network consists of the 1769-L31 via NET-ENI, a Dell XP Pro SP2 computer running FactoryTalk View ME Station , and an AB 1794-AENT Flex IO node with 6 IO modules.

I originally configured the NET ENI and was able to connect to my controller both through RSLinx Classic to work on my program using RSLogix5000, and through RSLinx Enterprise to go online to select tags from my controller in FT View ME Studio. However when I went online and ran FT View ME Station, I'd get a CIP Error (8000) and (1130101).

I thought that perhaps I couldn't use both Linx Classic and Enterprise at the same time through the Net ENI, so then I ran a serial conection for Classic. I also ran a very simple test FT View program with one button - this seemed to work. When I then tried to load my actual FT View program, I started getting the CIP errors again when I tried to use any of my buttons.

1st, will this network work, or will I overload the NET ENI?

2nd, I have not configured the ENI Message Routing for anything - I didn't think I needed to for this network since there's only one PLC. Do I need to configure that with my AENT and HMI computer IP addresses?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I want to know for sure that this set-up will not work before I tell my boss I need $2500 for a different controller.

Last edited:
The L32E only lists for $1343 more then the L31, before discount. Won't your distributor allow you to swap them?