What should I study?

boswellw

I'm an instrumentation tech who has a fair amount of experience in PLC's and programming. I want to move into this line full-time and get a qualification behind my name to move into this directly, but I'm not sure what I should study. What courses/diplomas/degrees would you guys recommend? What have you done, and what did you find the most effective and informative?

If you are interested in an associates degree I would suggest looking into the field of Mechatronics. It is a combination of mechanical and electronics. Classes include (depending on the college) instrumentation, PLC's, electronics, gear boxes (which includes bearings & drives), hydraulic, pneumatic, & robotics. It gives an all around maintenance education.

PLC's are so much more than PLC's any more. They all have the capability of using tools like Visual Basic, If you were to use Allen Bradley FactoryTalk SE software for HMI programming you cant even change a page from the PLC unless you write a Macro or add VB to something like a numeric display.
I would suggest you go after something like Computer Science degree.

I tend to agree Smoke. I was tilting towards that initially, but since the industry I work in is very specialized (robotics and automated sample preparation/analysis) I was concerned I might pigeon-hole myself i.e. Not many other company's have requirements for in-depth C-script. But I tend to agree with you. I'm sure PLC's are going to become more and more integrated into the computer world. Thank you.

I got my degree in Computer Science. Don't get me wrong, I'm glad I did, but it's not all that directly applicable. It's a great foundation to continue learning from, especially if you're into projects. Some concepts do carry over, though.

In retrospect I may have done EECS (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science), which has a bit less discreet and abstract math, a little less theory, and a whole lot more circuits/EE/architecture/physics.