Online Degree

go_bears

Hi, I have been doing PLC programming for 6 years now and am self taught. I have been applying for some jobs but they are looking for degrees. I would like to do an online course and get a degree. I was wondering what are some good online universities. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

What is the website? What school is it with?

With no disrespect I believe programming is something within you that no one can teach. As an anology, you can go to art school, learn how to mix colours, learn which brushes to use but no class can teach you how to paint.

Software is the same, it is either within you or not.

We had one employee how successfully passed the George Brown college PLC course , but could not handle the real world situations put to a programmer on a job site.

University of North Dakota

With no disrespect I believe programming is something within you that no one can teach. As an anology, you can go to art school, learn how to mix colours, learn which brushes to use but no class can teach you how to paint.

Software is the same, it is either within you or not.

We had one employee how successfully passed the George Brown college PLC course , but could not handle the real world situations put to a programmer on a job site.

C & S,

The subject of your post is debatable, and would be an interesting one at that, however, it doesn't address the OP's question. It sounds like he feels he has it within him, but is struggling to convince potential employers of this without having a degree to his credit.

The University of North Dakota UND(Grand Forks) has distance engineering degree programs that are very much up to snuff and are very worthy of the time. It's the next best thing to classic in the classroom education, and is ABET accredited, so it carries all the merits of any other degree out there.(Save Ivy League schools)