Training...Who, What and Where

MiPilot

Hi Guys,

I am an electrical contractor and have a customer who is looking to slowly switch his operations over to plc's. He is rather adamant that I would be able to install, program and service these systems. Without saying, I am excited about this opportunity.

We are looking at using Modicon M340 systems with Unity Pro and Vijeo software. The biggest reason is for the support that is available locally.

I would like to start instructor based training soon and am looking for suggestions. I have been considering the PLC Bootcamp but that appears to be based upon the AB systems. While I wouldn't mind learning about the AB units my main concern is with what I will be using right away.

My background is 25 years of Commercial/Industrial work with a good knowledge of controls.

Any advice on getting started would be appreciated.

MP

Hi Guys,
We are looking at using Modicon M340 systems with Unity Pro and Vijeo software. The biggest reason is for the support that is available locally.

Are you dead-set on Modicon? I know that local support is important, but I would think that you would get better support with A-B just about anywhere in Michigan.

I don't see a lot of Modicon hardware out there these days, and I would guess that you will have a lot tougher time getting support/spare parts from them than you would with one of the bigger PLC manufacturers. I would think that you would have more useful/marketable skills if you went that way as well. That's just my personal opinion though.

Are you dead-set on Modicon? I know that local support is important, but I would think that you would get better support with A-B just about anywhere in Michigan.