Operate a series of valves in RSLOGIX 5000

megatomic

Hello guys/gals, I am relatively new to programming in RSLOGIX 5000 v17 and have a question on how to operate a series of valves. They are tagged SOV1664 thru SOV1668 and are on consecutive discrete outputs on the same DO card. These are simple solenoid valves with no limit switches. 150msec duty each. When the first valve is popped for 150msec the program will cycle the next. When the enable to operate these valves goes inactive the program will remember which valve was operated last. When the enable is active once again, the program will pop the next valve.

And so on.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the forum megatomic.

Increment a counter every 150mSec and also increment it with a one shot every time the enable goes true.
If the counter.acc = 0 turn on valve 1
If the counter.acc = 1 turn on valve 2
etc.

You could also use an SQO instruction instead of a counter but the counter is simple to program and easy to understand.

A032410.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks for the welcome and also for the advice Alaric. It's interesting you mention the SQO command, I was sitting here trying to figure out how to make an SQL command work. I will try your method and see how it works for me.

This stuff is fun, there are so many ways to do the same thing.

SQL loads the assigned inputs all at the same time then using compares you determine what actions to take. The SQO is handy as it does the same it activates the assigned outputs at the same time. In the SQO statement a good use is to control a small stepper motor. Both instructions are usually avoided as there are better methods in the ease of troubleshooting. If you want some samples of SQL and SQO both being used in the same program let me know

Thanks guys. I wrote the logic this morning and made a few modifications as needed. I may have to build in some time delays, but that's no problem. I was just getting twisted on how to best sequence through my system.