Proficy Machine Edition Programming Question

Adam83

Hi all,

I've started working on a project with GE 90-30 processors and am using the Proficy Machine Edition to program them. Im very very new to PME (spent most my time with Logix5/500/5000) and need some basic help, and guidence. So im sure i will be coming back to this thread in the future and adding on questions as i encounter them.

First question on the list is quite a simple question/concept but im not sure whether PME has the functionality (first impressions to me is that its seems very basic). In essence im trying to replicate the same functionality that Logix5000 has with its Add On instructions.

What ive done so far.
I have created a basic project, under the Program Blocks have created two folders that contain my LD Blocks. First Folder is called Standards, the other is Called Task.

In the Standards Folder i have created a LD Block called (DOL1) that does a very basic control of an output (Latch it with one input, unlatch it with another).
In the Task folder i have created a LD Block Called Pump1, which in essence calls the DOL1 LD Block. So basically the first couple rungs i am doing some simple mapping Pump1.StartCmd mapped to DOL1.StartCmd etc. Then i call the DOL2 LD Block and finally map DOL1.Output to Pump1.Output. (hope thats clear).

in my mind this seems logical, but when i try to validate i get Error 8249 and Error 8248: Invalid scope for output/input operand.

Has anyone encountered this before with PME?? All im trying to do is create a Drive Block which i can reuse the logic.

anyone have any ideas? :confused:

Any help/comments are appriciated.

Thanks

Adam.

The problem is with the . in the names. Change to an underscore or letter or number and you will be fine.

The 90-30 platform has its limits. You will have to address all of your variables, somewhat like Logix500.