new to PLC programming

javmen99

I'm using the directsoft32 software and i'm new to PLC programming. I've looked at the tutorial and i'm still confused. I've been able to turn one valve on and off using a timer and a simple test program. Using a counter how would I turn on multiple valves, then once one of my inputs reaches a certain value, make the counter advance one, and hence advance to the next step/process for the PLC? Is anyone familiar with directsoft32 software?

thx
Dave

Sorry, but your question is not clear.

For counters, each PLC brand has a different method for handling these. For most of them though, they will have an edge detecting "count" input that counts the number of rising edges. If the input is staying "ON", then you may be getting no counts.
The counter will also generally have a reset/enable input, that will have to be either on or off (depending on the manufacturer) for the counter to operate.

As for turning on and off multiple valves, I generally will program the ON conditions for each valve separately. It is possible to group them, but keeping them separate helps with troubleshooting and modifications.

Doug

This looks like a good application for the "drum timer" instruction. AutomationDirect.com's is easier to set up than most, and you can either have it event or time based. In your case you can use the counter to trip the events. The manual is pretty good on explaining use, but you will have to play around with it a little.

Another technique you should look at is using compares. For example, you can use the accumulated count (CTA12 for example is the accumulated count for counter 12) with equal, greater than, or less than comparisons to a counter or a V-memory location. This can turn on a coil to falg a step as completed.

You definitely want to keep your outputs separate rather than grouped - it does simplify troubleshooting.