PLC Programming for Beginners

The Regulator

Hello! I graduated 2 years ago with a Bachelor's in Chemical Engineering and I currently work for a Pharmaceutical company as a Manufacturer. I've got a plan for my future to land myself a position as a Process Control Engineering at a big company like Exxon or DuPont. I've never been exposed to Process Control from the "real-world" point of view except through the course I took as an undergrad. Just recently I had the opportunity to foreshadow a colleague of mine from the Process Control group from our company as he intended to PID tune an E/P regulator. From this experience I learned quite a few interesting things. The most shocking one was that I learned that companies in industry rely on RSLogix programs for their PID tuning! I always thought they used Matlab's Simulink as we relied on this program for my process control class. To make the story shorter, I was able to download a free version of RSLogix Micro Starter Lite to my laptop. To simulate a PLC, I had to download RSLogix Emulate 500 along with RSLinx Classic. I was never exposed to electrical engineering programming nor electrical concepts so all of this is brand new to me. I'm used to the language of "transfer functions" and "zeroes and poles" Now that I have RSLogix at home, I would like to start practicing on my programming skills with a major emphasis on process control concepts, such as PID tuning. Until this day, I've been browsing all over the internet, searching for a legitimate guide that I could follow at home that will teach me how to program, that will show me examples, and that will let me test my programs and tune them. Can someone please help me out? I figured that if I can take my time to learn RSLogix now, that I'll be better off once I attempt to apply for jobs as a Process Control Engineer. Thanks in advance for your help.
-The Regulator-