PLC-5 PID Question

hoytman

Hi all,
I've been a long time follower of this forum, but this is my first time posting.
I'm dealing with a PLC5/20 and was hoping to get better control out of a PID loop. We are currently reading the level of a tank and trying to maintain a SP of 6.5 however the PV is an integer so it bounces around either 6 or 7. The PID block is a PD which says I can use floating values. I found a previous post that said the resolution is never going to be that great due the AI being scaled 0-4095, but I'm wondering if I have any other options to attain greater control? The engineering units on the PID setup screen are set from 0 to 4095. Would it make a difference if I set that 0-100? If so, has anyone ever changed this online (The manual says not to because it might fault the processor)?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Sorry Ron... I'm not sure if my employer would allow posting our code. I accept that it may be dificult now to get a proper response, so thanks anyway.

If you can't post the program you'll need to give a lot more detail.

What does 0-4095 scale to in Engineering Units? 0 - 10, 0 - 100, 0 - 12345?

Of the scaled range, how much of that range does the actual process use?

How do you know that you aren't controlling at 6.5? Yes I understand the display and program is bouncing between 6 and 7, but that is a function of the measuring device. What is actually happening in the tank? Surely the actual level is not 6 then 7, it is at some unmeasurable value between 6 and 7. How haven you determined that you need tighter control?

If your level control is bouncing between 6 and 7 given your current limitations I would say you're doing pretty good! But, if it was bouncing between 3 - 9, then I would agree it needs to be looked at.