Upload documentations

CLP_5K

Hi All, i'm totaly new to PLC as they've been around with me for a while. I work as a mechanic in a meat plant and got a chance to learn PLCs which happen to ALL ABs.

I managed to connect to a SLC5/03 and upload the program but, it was all plain relay ladder logic. How to upload a program with all the documentations comes with it? ( I don't have the original copy of the file).

Thank you so much

How to upload a program with all the documentations comes with it? ( I don't have the original copy of the file).
CLP, the documentation is not stored on the old Allen Bradley PLCs. The only way to get the documentation is to find a copy of the original program, or to recreate the documentation by using other information from drawings, printed copies of the program, or project specifications.

Lancie that is one of my favorite ways to learn a system. Reverse documentation can take months or minutes. Either way you cab learn a lot from the original programmer.

Lancie that is one of my favorite ways to learn a system. Reverse documentation can take months or minutes. Either way you cab learn a lot from the original programmer.

Yep I have had to do this a few times -
Start with the known names
Inputs then outputs
use the description, not the symbol tags, as these can be changed while the prgogram is still running.
a good way to learn both programming and structure.
Don't hesitate to post a zipped version for help from any of us.

thanks guys, guess i have to do it bit by bit. I was told it could be done using database expot/import, can anyone guide me through this method? Thanks. Please be petient with a newbe..

"I was told it could be done using database expot/import"

No, sorry, it can't...

Documentation, i.e. rung comments, page titles, address descriptions etc., are NOT stored in the PLC, only in the project file.

There is no way you will get any of the original programmers descriptive documentation from the PLC.