Traffic lights noob.

solesillo

Hello, i know this is a 'too-repeated thread' in the forum, but i've tried to search my specific problem and i get no response at all.

I am a mechanical engineer, so I don't have a real interest in learning how to program PLCs, I did have it at first 'cause, honestly, is quite interesting, but time's showed me that Electronics should be understood in a part of my brain i don't know how to control yet, so I've abandoned my hope of completing the task by myself and start looking for help.

I need to program with S7-200 and Microwin, a traffic lights cross, NS and EW, with priority button for pedestrians and incoming signals for cars. one in each of the four traffic lights. The sensors and priority buttons, should substract 5 seconds of the other direction timing.

I already know how to make a single traffic light without priority buttons, as found here, http://isa.uniovi.es/~vsuarez/Download/problema_0203.pdf

In my task, I understand there will be 9 inputs:
-Start
- T.L. 1 Pedestrian button
- T.L. 2 Pedestrian button
- T.L. 3 Pedestrian button
- T.L. 4 Pedestrian button
- T.L. 1 traffic sensor
- T.L. 2 traffic sensor
- T.L. 3 traffic sensor
- T.L. 4 traffic sensor

Could you please help me and tip me what do I have to introduce to the circuit in order to make what i Want?

Do you know where can I hire it? I'd do it gladly. :ROFLMAO:

As you can see, i've asked for tips, in order to try to solve it myself, not the specific code (though i would love having it).

You said you already know how to the single with priority button. How did you do it? What is different? What would you need to add to make it meet the new requirements?

The first step of any automation project is to define your requirements. Alot of times, this can be done with a flow chart or a state diagram. What happens first? What happens next? How does it know to change? What if it fails or gets stuck?