Language translation

daddys12

Good morning,
I am recieving some equipment from Mexico next month. I have already recieved the ladders from the and all of the descriptions are in Spanish. Is there an easy way to translate this to English in SLC 500?

I am also getting some equipment with GE 90 30 processors in it. I have no experience whatsoever with GE controllers. Any advice for dealing with them.

Thanks for your help.

It has been my experience that with language translations that are of a technical nature, it is best to find a bilingual person to help you with the translations.

You could export the database, and run it through Google Translate or Microsoft Translator, and see if that gets most of the basics done right. Often, we use jargon in our world that is translated incorrectly (if at all) by conventional methods.

I recently did the reverse, converted a Red Lion application from English into Spanish (automatically using their built in tools), but I haven't installed the system yet to find out from the Spanish speaking production operators whether it did a good enough job.

Also, you could try to hammer out some of them here if you need a technical person's help.

Es muy fácil, aprende hablar español. :D

Okie is right, you can try automatic translation or just grabbing a English/Spanish dictionary. Even if you learn to speak Spanish, the big problem is that much of the technical jargon doesn't translate well.

You probably tried but is there any chance that whoever wrote the code originally can provide a translation? The next suggestion would be to hire a technical translator.

I had to do this for a PLC we got from Italy. Much was easy, however, it seemed the more obscure the function the less likely we could find a simple translation. We even had some Italian speakers in the office (who weren't technical staff) and either they didn't understand the context or had difficulties in translating into English.