Social Engineering for Tech Support

ganutenator

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have been in this Industry since 1990, and am at least smart enough to know that I don't know.

After reading "Ghost in the Wires" (awesome read in two days book by the way) and how the happy ending of ethical hacking couldn't somehow justify my ethical tech support social engineering.

thoughts?

What I mean by this is...

I can't afford the huge support contracts from Schneider or Allen Bradley since I am a freelancer.

I need to get support somehow.

I have been in this Industry since 1990, and am at least smart enough to know that I don't know.

After reading "Ghost in the Wires" (awesome read in two days book by the way) and how the happy ending of ethical hacking couldn't somehow justify my ethical tech support social engineering.

thoughts?

I've read this question 5 times now and I'm still struggling to understand what you are asking?

Would it be possible to clarify for us slow people who have only had 1 cup of coffee today?

Thank you ;-)

Question:

How much trouble can I get in, using social engineering tactics (i.e. conning people) to gain tech support from these big companies.

I.E. Schneider Electric found out that I no longer work for my former employer and canceled my eclipse account.

This means that I couldn't even look up answers to things that I knew they had already written tech notes on. Like, what dip switch 4 does on the Magelis Screen.

What are the ethical opinions. i.e. I am still buying their hardware and don't see the benefit of leaving the end customer screwed.

Question:

How much trouble can I get in, using social engineering tactics (i.e. conning people) to gain tech support from these big companies..

None. You are not breaking any criminal or civil law. The worst that will happen is that they will cancel your account ala Schneider.