Learning basic HMI and plc

Malador

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm a power plant electrician, and I'd like to learn more about plcs and HMIs. Do you guys think buying a click micro plc and a c-mor EA1-T4CL would be beneficial? Or there better ways to spend the money to learn the skills? I was thinking about doing simple home automation with them, such a sprinkler system and heating/ac. We have allen bradley at work, and learning on them would be Ideal. But the AB stuff is really out of my price range.

Thanks!

Quick back ground

I've taken a few couple of night classes at the local community college. One on the allen bradley PLC 5, and one on the 500's.

As far has experience I've just installed micro PLC's to control sump pumps, and other equally simple projects.

Thanks again!

We have allen bradley at work, and learning on them would be Ideal. But the AB stuff is really out of my price range.
The Automation Direct software has a lot of differences from the Allen Bradley RSLogix. Have you considered buying a used Micrologix 1000 and then downloading the free version of RSLogix (which will run the Micrologix 1000)? You can also find many low-priced used SLC 500's on EBay and other sites.

The Automation Direct software has a lot of differences from the Allen Bradley RSLogix. Have you considered buying a used Micrologix 1000 and then downloading the free version of RSLogix (which will run the Micrologix 1000)? You can also find many low-priced used SLC 500's on EBay and other sites.

The biggest problem is the software license. AB knows their stuff is good and charges a pretty high premium.

I'm going to check into the micrologix today though. I just downloaded the software for it, and at a glance it looks a lot like the slc 500.

Thanks

You can use the Free RSLogix 500 on all MicroLogix 1000 and 1100, it is the same software as the programming for SLC's

http://www.ab.com/linked/programmabl...downloads.html

You will need RSLinx and RSLogix

Quote:
Software