Total Newbie Here

Melp

The company I work for asked me to program a simple PLC (Apparently since I'm a computer programmer, it should be easy for me). Anyways, I usually learn pretty fast but I'd love some help to get started. The program goes like this :

There's an input that comes from the cylinder exit. When that cylinder exit is clear, it triggers the output. When it's not, the output stays closed.

There's another input that comes from the conveyer traffic with a timer. If the cylinder exit is clear, it triggers the output, if not, it waits 10 secs and tries again.

I *hope* that was clear enough. I'll be programming this on a Logo!, but if I can have a base idea of what the ladder looks like I can switch it to the Logo!.

Thank you so much for all your help !!!

Let's see if I understand...

It sounds (to me) like you have a conveyor with a solenoid operated air cylinder which pushes product off the conveyor (maybe to another conveyor?). There is a sensor located BEFORE of the cylinder that senses when there is product ready to be pushed. There is also a sensor located AFTER the cylinder to confirm that the exit is clear.

What is the state of each sensor when product is detected? ON when product is present, or OFF when product is present? Similar question for the cylinder. I assume the output should turn ON to push the product?

🍻

-Eric

Tell your boss that lines of code and ladder logic are worlds apart, especially since you don't seem to have the electrical knowledge that you need to figure out circuits.

That being said,
Myself, I wouldnt use a PLC for your situation, it would probably be less work to use a couple relays and a timer. This diagram I made up only uses 2 relays and a timer.

cyl exit input
-----|/|----------------------------(output1)---

conveyor input output1 timer
-----| |------------| |-------|/|---(output2)---
| output 1
------|/|----------------(timer)---
timer |
------------------| |--

Last edited: