Seeking Advice..

Artronix

This is my first post but I have been following through this forum for awhile and gathering knowledge. I am fairly new to PLC, but have just recently completed a course at my college where I used a software known as Logixpro. A great piece of work if I might add, very helpful but I don't know if ladder logic can help with what I am trying to achieve for this personal project I am doing. Below is my following question but I will explain a little on what I am trying to do.

I have 2 pumps & 4 switches also know as "floats" to determine different water levels within my tank.

The float names are Off Float, On Float, Lag Float & Alarm Float, respectively.

When the Off Float is off, meaning the water level is stable then of course, both Pumps #1 & #2 are off.

Here is where my problem comes in:
When the On Float comes on(which would be a water level slightly higher than the Off Float) I would like to have Pump#1 & Pump#2 Alternate between each other whenever the On Float is triggered. I purchased a Digitec PLC which the software was based on Logic Gates and not Ladder Logic. I could not configure a type of alternator using Logic Gates. Even after my class this past summer, I'm still struggling on how to configure an alternator using Ladder Logic. I still feel it would be easier to do in Ladder Logic rather than Logic Gates but I am struggling with solving this. Any advice or possibly a lead into the right direction would be grateful.

The Lag Float when triggered,(a water level higher than the On Float) sets both Pump#1 and Pump#2 on at the same time.

The Alarm Float of course comes on if both pumps have failed to bring down the water level.

I have a circuit but not sure if that will help. My main problem is of course the alternating of the pumps each time the On Float is triggered.

Any advice would be great!

Artronix,

Welcome and happy hunting to you!