Factorytalk View studio (.apa files)

mandi

Hi there,

I am new to FT view studio and I don't know how to save the .apa files (that are by default saved in archive) into a USB. I have been reading manual and user's guide, but didn't help.

I would really appreciate any information.

The .apa file is just an ordinary file as far as saving. Make multiple copies if you need for safekeeping. When it comes time to re-use it just Restore it using the same File manager which you used to create it as a backup. The one file contains all the information of a project.

When you use Restore the file doesn't have to be in the Archive folder. At that time just browse to wherever a copy of the file is stored. The whole directory and registry entries will be recreated.

Last edited:
After a Restore check the communication links. If the Restore is to a different computer and you are using passwords as access levels re-check those. They will probably have to be re-assigned.

FT .apa files

Thanks to both of you for the quick reply and for really helpful information, but I still have smth I don't understand. Can I save this .apa file to any USB or any other saving format and how?

Thanks for your time.

Use your ordinary file cut/copy and save commands just like any other file. Leave a copy in 'Archive' and save another copy to your USB flash drive or some other secure location as a backup. Since it's already in a compressed format you won't gain much by using a zip utility on it. And, as mentioned, the apa is the only proper way to transport a project from one PC to another.

1. Start > Programs > Rockwell Software > FactoryTalk View > Tools > Application Manager
  2. Select Machine Edition and click Next
  3. Select Backup Application and click Next
  4. Select the project to be backed up and click Next
  5. Enter the name to be used for the file