Need help programming!!!

dbh6

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello Everyone,
I am new to PLC’s and this is my first of many posts to come as I just joined this website. I have a question regarding on how to write ladder code for a certain scenario that one of my customers had requested, the PLC is a 1769-L30ER CompactLogix 5330ER Controller.
Brief overview of project
I currently programmed a mill that has an agitator where the operator enters a runtime in minutes which pretty much is the user input for how long they want the agitator to run, as well as a RPM set point which serves as the speed of the agitator. I also programmed how many minutes are remaining from the setpoint value to display on the HMI (Panel View Plus CE 1500) how long they have left in minutes for till the agitator stops. All that programming is working with no known issues. The VFD (Yaskawa A1000) controlling the agitator has to be serviced every now and then to make sure its functioning properly. What they asked from me is, say you have a preset time of 30hrs, once the agitators accumulated running time reaches 30hrs, the plc stops the agitator and sends a signal that the vfd has to be serviced. Once it has been serviced they can resume regular operation. I’m using a push button on the HMI that is going to be a bit in the ladder logic in the plc that resets the count of the accumulated time, once they have serviced the agitator.
Now the question,