Need Help with Programming

Big_Robo

Hello i need one of you fine gentlemen to help me with some ladder logic. I'm brand new to PLC's and admire you guys, i'm a long time stalker first time poster.

I have attached a very crude pic and basically want each conveyor (black and red) to feed onto conveyor blue simultaneously without crashing parts together. So e.g. black runs for 30 sec then red for 30 secs but if black hasn't any parts it continues to run red and vice versa.

I have tried and my attempts have failed could anyone help me out.

Untitled1.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

A couple of questions first, please:
1. Is this homework?
2. What kind of processor is this?

A point to ponder: you mentioned that you wanted Red and Black to feed "simultaneously" on to Blue without crashing packages. As I see it, the only times you will want both Red and Black to run will be when neither S1 nor S2 is made - at which time, no packages will be transferring onto Blue.

Hello
It was a task given to me by the control engineer who will be going off sick for a while. It is going to be for a training rig for future apprentices.
It will be running from S7

The pondering point is correct i apologise should have been more clear.

Sorry for being a total noobie.

To me this appears to be more than just programming.

Are the sensors already installed and where are they?
Are there any gate or stops in place to keep the parts from jamming?
What type of conveyors are they, belt, rollers, etc?

These are all I can think of right now.

I appreciate all the replies and even people looking at it. Hoping to learn fast this PLC lark is some hard hitting stuff.

Yes sensors are already installed S1 and S2 are part present sensors
S3 is belt M3 full/stop sensor
No stop or gates in place as of yet
All conveyors are belts.

Inserted another pic with S3 sensor.