wiring PLC digital outputs to VFD

unsaint32

I am studying this AB 160SSC VFD. I have attached a picture from online manual of this VFD. It shows wiring method IF I used regular PBs and toggle switch. Since terminal 7 is "common," I figured 5, 6, and 8 are V+. Am I correct so far?

My PLC (micrologix1000) output terminals have VAC and output terminals but no COM terminal. So, the only way to wire it is to wire VFD's #7 terminal which is COM to VAC, (and each PLC output terminal to 5, 6, and 8, which doesn't make sense.

help please.

thanks.

ab 160c default input mode.jpg

My PLC (micrologix1000) output terminals have VAC and output terminals
What is the model number? If it is only labeled VAC, then I'm guessing it's a 1761-L32AAA? That model has triac outputs (except outputs 0 and 1), and triacs cannot be directly wired to a VFD. You would need to use interposing relays. Relays get turned on by the PLC, and the relays' contacts connect to the VFD.

🍻

-Eric

As the manual states,the drive has an internal 12V power supply. You may want to use interposing relay(s). Use your output to fire the relay, use the relay contacts in place of the PBs.

Sorry for the duplicate reply, Eric beat me to it, I'm trying to type with a two year old jumping on me.

Attention.PNG Control Inputs.PNG

Last edited:
Using three relays makes sense. But I am going to go home and try wiring the way I had explained in my original posting. I know it doesn't make sense to wire the PLC's output VAC terminal to VFD's COM terminal. But someone at work told me it would work. I will let you know the outcome. Thanks for all your help.

Using three relays makes sense. But I am going to go home and try wiring the way I had explained in my original posting. I know it doesn't make sense to wire the PLC's output VAC terminal to VFD's COM terminal. But someone at work told me it would work. I will let you know the outcome. Thanks for all your help.

Try to avoid breathing in the smoke when you do this...